Turbine Testing Lab

News and Events



Turbine Testing Lab celebrated its Fifth Anniversary

   Turbine Testing Lab [TTL] marked its fifth anniversary on November 24, 2016, by organizing a program at TTL Auditorium. Mr. Kul Man Ghising, Managing Director of Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA), and Mr. Satya Narayan Shah, Chairman of Nepal Engineering Council (NEC), attented the program as chief guests. The program was attended by Kathmandu University Vice Chancellor, Registrar, Deans and Associate Deans of respected Schools, Professors, Associate and Assistant Professors, lecturers, researchers, staffs and students. The program started with welcome speech of Dr. Hari Prasad Neopane, Associate Professor and Head of Department of Mechanical Engineering. In the speech, Dr. Neopane welcomed all the distinguished guests and discussed the journey of the department and its recent achievements. Mr. Nirmal Acharya, Research Associate at TTL emphasized the major research activities and achievements of the lab this year. He also highlighted the 5 years journey of TTL and the future plan for next 5 years. Prof. Dr. Bhupendra Bimal Chhettri, Dean, School of Engineering, KU and Mr. Ghising released the 5th anniversary issue of TTL.
Group 0-DSC 1748 DSC 1755-8 images
   The release was then followed by speeches from the chief guests. Mr. Shah highlighted about the importance of Mechanical Engineering in the society and the ethics engineer should follow during their professional life. Mr. Ghising recalled his memories with TTL and discussed briefly about the load management system at NEA and his efforts to reduce loadshedding in the country. Similarly, he talked about possible collaboration with KU and NEA for the betterment of the country. Prof. Dr. Bhola Thapa, Registrar, KU talked about the inception of TTL, its importance to the society, the challanges faced during its operation and the future plans of TTL. He also opined that the research and academic excellence achieved by the department and TTL must be translated to society and industry. It was then followed with motivational speech of Prof. Dr. Ram Kantha Makaju Shrestha, Vice Chancellor, KU. The formal program was then wrapped up by the concluding remarks of Prof. Chhettri . The magazine is also available in online version.
Some Glimpses of the TTL- 5th Anniversary program
DSC 1673
Chief guests lighting the Panas before the program
DSC 1679
Dr. Hari Pd. Neopane, HoD, DoME , TTL welcoming the program attendees
DSC 1734
Chief guest and Dean, SoE making the official release of TTL 5th Anniversary
DSC 1701
Mr. Nirmal Acharya highlighting the 5 years journey of TTL
DSC 1762
 Mr. Satya Narayan Shah, Chairman, NEC addressing the program
DSC 1766 
 Mr. Kul Man Ghising, MD, NEA addressing the program
DSC 1786
 Prof. Dr. Bhola Thapa, Registrar, KU thanking the chief guests of the program
DSC 1792
 Prof. Dr. Ram Kantha Makaju Shrestha, VC, KU marking the program with his inspirational speech
DSC 1803
 Prof. Dr. Bhupendra Bimal Chhettri wrapping up the program with his concluding remarks


         KU Home Page                                              Department of Mechanical Engineering, KU           Water Power Laboratory, NTNU (NORWAY)         TTL Brochure 

                       Old Water Power Laboratory,KU                     Old Pico Turbine Laboratory, KU                              Archive Pictures                                         First Anniversary Issue of TTL